FOOD HUNTER – My favorite Vegan-friendly places in Paris (Part I)

Finally ! Food Hunter is launched (yeepee houra, it’s been years…)

I’ve always been hesitating to write articles about food because there are a tons of blogs and instagram accounts about this topic. I don’t think that I would make the difference with my blog but I just want to chill out and exchange with you my experience such as for stationeries or music. Food and drinks remain one of my favorite topics to talk to with people and I do think we are all sort of foodista 🙂

So, you got it, in this new topic I am sharing with you some restaurants/cafés that I affectionate, but also why not, product reviews and some recipes !

Here, I’ve decided to introduce you to five (5) vegan / veggie friendly places that I usually go to Paris.

With this whole pandemic mess, restaurants and cafés have been heavily challenged. They had to rethink of their business plan, and find the best options to continue caring of our little stomaches (ok, well, mine is kinda big…) by delivering or take away.

Those places are chosen carefully as I am really aware on what I am eating (I explain further). So it’s totally home made and fresh food / drinks. On top of that, for each place, I give you a location for where to eat your meal when it’s sunny outside !

SWEETRAWMANCE (ex-Rawcakes) En route to the Raw life !

Budget – 8 euros – 25 euros

It’s always sunny and warm at Sweetrawmance. Located at Rue Daguerre,The owners always welcome you with a big smile ! I have been to this place for 5 years now and I’ve never been disappointed. It was the time I’ve decided to eat less meat, and to have a healthier way of life.

I became more conscious of my diet, and I wanted strictly fresh home made food. Rawcakes, (their previous name at that time) has initiated me to the « Raw food » and gluten free. And what an amazing discovery ! From salads to burgers, to raw lasagna and pizza, raw cakes and fresh juices, SweetRawmance knows how to fill your stomach with savory and healthy meals while taking care of earth. Food is from local producers, and they buy small quantities to manage easily their stocks and never waste. They also are pretty active on social medias and post on their blog to give update of their activities or give good advices.

Pandemic has been really challenging for them, but they always find innovative ways to still deliver : breakfast menu, brunches on sunday, or « home office » menu. I can’t wait to return back and enjoy my lunch in their terrace.

My favorite meal : and it’s not a burger nor the season bowl

To be honest, it is pretty difficult to choose. I love their burgers (the portobello and potatoes oh gosh delicious) and salads a lot but I’ll share with you that new meal which appeared last year and became an absolute favorite :

Gluten free chick peas crêpe filled with grilled zucchini, sweet potatoes, mushroom and peanut butter sauce.

This is so fresh and creamy, and pretty generous. The Kale salad assures to make your stomach completely full.

Of course, I have to talk about their raw cakes (it’s in their name…) ! And you really should try them ! It’s not plain at all, it really keeps flavors of each ingredient and you can eat without worrying about gaining weight. In fact, their cakes aren’t made with refined sugar, for example some cakes are made with dates !

Cakes suffered while taking it away, sorry for the no-aesthetic picture. However, trust me, those cakes were gorgeous. They definitely reproduced the taste of a Black Forest (on left) and Stracciatella (on right) while being not too sugary.

Website : https://www.sweetrawmance.com/

Location : 83 Rue Daguerre, 75014 Paris (Metro 4/6 Denfert Rochereau, Bus 38, Bus 92)

Square / Park nearby : You can go to Luxembourg park by bus 38 or go to the square near Square de l’Aspirant Dunand.

KITCHENbowls of love !

Budget : 8 euros – 15 euros

I’ve discovered this one three years ago when I was looking for a place to brunch after working out. Before pandemic, it used to be really crowded on sundays and you had to queue. I usually go on weeks after my morning training. In Kitchen, you can order protein shakes, good quality coffee, fresh cold pressed juice and of course food : bagels, pancakes, salads.

My favorite meal : their speciality – the Veggie stew complete (GF, Vegan option).

The veggie stew complete is the reason why I queue for. You have your proteins, your veggies in one bowl. The base is composed of rice, then you have roasted vegetables, houmous and creamy avocado. Don’t forget to choose your sauce ! It brings your bowl to another level of savory. I always order satay sauce which I think suits the best the meal. (and I love peanut butter… a bit too much). As I am not vegan, I enjoy the way they cook the egg (but you can ask to not have one of course!), as the yolk is rather kept raw so then you can mix in your bowl… (what a simple but pure pleasure for me haha).

Order recommendation, try out their pancakes (they also have a gluten free option) !
Website : https://kitchenparis.com/

Location : 74 Rue des Gravilliers, 75003 Paris (Metro Rambuteau ou Arts et Métiers)

Square / Park nearby : Square du General Morin or Square du Temple – Elie Wiesel

SOL SEMILLA100% superfood

Budget : 15 euros – 25 euros

Do you know what superfood is ? It’s about foodstuffs which enable you to get all the vitamins and proteins you need. Superfood is an ancestral ressource and Sol Semilla made its speciality in it. They choose carefully their products, control the sourcing, the importation, stockage and packaging. And it’s all 100% organic ! They have a shop where you can buy : raw cocoa, guarana, purple corn, nopal (prickly pear), spirulina, acerola and many others.

Check out their store.

Sol Semilla is THE place to be if you want to try superfood. Before pandemic, I loved sitting their and enjoying my lunch while watching their cute cat napping. Even though today it’s all take away, they garnish your box as much as possible.. You have : Bowl of the day called « Super Bowl », Raw dish, and a today’s special.

My favorite meal : The « Today’s special »100% vegan and GF

Today’s special will make sure you’ll get savors you never had before. You will never get boring at eating veggies and seeds. What you get inside ? You’ll always have one (1) cereal, legumes (lentils here), salad, raw vegetables (carrots, red cabbage), smashed spirulina, and a soup. Everything is well-seasoned with all those superfood (for example lucuma, yacon, nopal…) and spices. It’s full of vitamins and vegetal proteins. I always feel stuffed and recharged !

Desserts must be tried too ! Again, it’s « good » sugar 😉 This set of desserts are also made with superfood : guarana, raw cocoa, lucuma, nuts… No unrefined sugar there, the sweetness is from fresh fruits or coco sugar !

Website : https://www.sol-semilla.fr/en/

Location : 23, Rue des Vinaigriers 75010 – Paris (M4 – Gare de l’Est)

Square / Park nearby : Le Canal Saint-Martin

SEASON SQUAREmy cheat meal place

Budget : 13,50 – 15,50 euros

Anytime I crave for a burger, I always go to my favorite cheat meal « friendly » place : Season Square. This is the place I always recommend to my friends if they want to try a vegan burger. They have the best burgers in my opinion (yeah even better than H*nk B*rger). If you’re not keen to burger, they have a « kebab ». If you want to be very healthy, check out also their yummy bowls. Depending on the season (because it’s called Season Square, obviously…) the bowls change. Season Square provides you fresh food from locals, and almost all organic. Currently it’s SATAY bowl : green lentils curry, sweet potatoes season with coco milk and peanut butter, rice, houmous, raw vegetables. But I prefer their SOBA bowl, because I love noodles with the fried tofu seasoned with teriyaki sauce and raw vegetables.

BUT. BURGERS.

My favorite meal – The crispy « chicken » burger

and guess what. I don’t have a picture (lol). but trust me it’s so amazing. The fried home made vegan steak tastes almost like (sorry vegans again) fried chicken, it’s astonishing ! and I love their sauce, an onion-vegan mayonnaise and home made bread.

But, here my other favorite I got before lockdown : The Aïoli. But I have to precise some ingredients aren’t totally home made, that’s why I prefer the crispy one the most !

This one is stuffed with a beyond steak (I love the smokey taste), roasted portobello mushroom and a aïoli-mayonnaise sauce. Here in this picture, I got the GF bun ! (this one is not home made, but from Schär which is ok !)

And please !!! check out their sides : i love the cajun corns and those potato croquettes (I am drooling while writing)…

You can get fresh drinks and pastries. I highly recommend their cinnamon bun.

Website : https://www.season-square.com/

Location : 3 Rue Louise Weiss, 75013 PARIS (M6 Chevaleret, M14 Bibliothèque François Mitterand)

Square / Park nearby : You can find benches around the restaurant, or go to Bercy’s Park !

BONUS : LAND AND MONKEYSThe Best Vegan Bakery

Why a bakery ? At Land and Monkeys you can also get a complete vegan lunch there. They serve fresh home made salads and sandwiches.

Everything in this Bakery is Animal Cruelty Free. No leather, no milk, no egg, no honey… The team is fully engaged and 1% of their annual benefits is reversed to associations and refugees. Their sourcing is also fully organic, and from local farmers. What I appreciate too : it’s 100% plastic free. You’ll get your dishes in a recycled kraft box and if you bring your own lunch box you’ll get 10% off.

Breads are made with natural sourdough, and you’ll get different ranges, gluten free and recipes from all around the world. I got a Matlouh falafel sandwich once there along with salads of the day. This sort of bread is a speciality from Maghreb. (and I forgot to take a picture.)You can try Pastries (their millefeuille !), Brioche which are even better than those made with butter !

But each time I go to Land and Monkeys it’s for something special.

My favorite dessert – THE BEST COOKIE I EVER HAD

You have, no.. YOU MUST try their delicious, greedy cookie ! Oh god it’s so generous and as a crazy fan of Caramel, it’s like gates to heaven are opened to me. Each bite, it gives me euphoria (no no I don’t exaggerate haha). In my mouth I get sugary flavor with a bit of salt at the end. On top you have nuts, and caramel, and inside it’s stuffed with intense chocolate. Really, your eyes go « O__O » (yeah…an illustration of wide opened eyes).

« The Sweetest Perfection… to call my own » (c) Depeche Mode

Website : https://www.land-and-monkeys.com/

Location : (I didn’t till today they had two other addresses omg !!)

86 bld Beaumarchais, Paris 11ème
85 rue Raymond Losserand, Paris 14ème
158 rue de la Roquette, Paris 11ème

Square / Park nearby : I usually go to the one at the 11ème, you have benches there.

Hope you appreciated reading this article and you made discoveries, otherwise tell me what do you prefer to have in those places.

Thank you for your support and see you next time !

Laisser un commentaire

Créez un site ou un blog sur WordPress.com

Retour en haut ↑